News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Looking to take up plate armor

Started by TheMightyMcClaw, December 15, 2009, 10:27:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheMightyMcClaw

Greetings, all ye fair gents and cunning ladies,
I've been making maille for a couple of years. I've recently taken up blacksmithing. I'm seeing myself heading inevitably towards one goal, which is making plate/banded armor. I consider these much the same craft, as far as I can tell, they both come down to cutting, shaping, and riveting sheet metal.
I am, of course, a bit nervous about the whole thing, since plate armor has some rather expensive tools involved, especially compared to the "two pliers and a winding rod" needed to make chainmail.
As far as I can tell, I need three basic things: sheet metal, something to cut sheet metal, and a way to shape sheet metal.
For the cutting, I've heard throatless sheers are the way to go. I'm currently looking at these guys: http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=38413&xcamp=google&utm_source=googlebase&utm_medium=cpc&zmam=33951326&zmas=12&zmac=112&zmap=38413.
For shaping, I've heard it said that logs, pipes, and other such can be used for those who lack an anvil. Does anyone have any advice on this topic?
Finally, the sheet metal itself. Where does one *buy* sheet metal? Hardware store? Or somewhere more specialized?

ALS

The Harbor Freight shear is what it is, a cheap inexpensive knock off of a Beverly shear. It can be made to work okay but you will have to work on it to get it to do so. This http://forums.armourarchive.org/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=1&sid=a86d58d1060f257a1fa87ecfce23cce3 is a good place to go for questions and advice.