News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Performer Etiquette

Started by Ditzy Gypsy, January 18, 2010, 06:52:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ditzy Gypsy

I've been reading through these forums soaking up all the info and discussions and I've seen topics dealing with the many nuances of paytron/playtron and merchant etiquette but I noticed that there wasn't really a topic that summed it all up for performers. (If there was one, it escaped my searches somehow.) This is my first year as a performer and I'm bound and determined not to make any performer faux pas.

So considering that one minds their playtron manners, what additional do's and don'ts should a newbie performer like me keep in mind?

During offstage time, do performers tip other performers if they watch a show?
I'm supposed to be in character ALL the time, so how would I deal with friends from my mundane life that come to see me, and want to talk about mundane things in a public area?
I'm in a stage show, so would it be considered rude to interact as my character in the lanes when there are lane performers about?

Thanks beforehand for any experience, information, and advice you may have!  :)

GirlChris

1)I can't really help you with tipping ettiquette. Faires up here in Canada tend to be of the "no-hat" variety.

2)Different people deal with people they know in different ways. My usual modus operandi when I run into my friends is to run through my favourite or newest bits for them (depends on what they've seen before) then beat it. I let everyone know before hand that I'm working so I can't hang around and socialize, so nobody's too offended.