News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

For All Newbies To Sewing

Started by auntiegiggles, July 09, 2010, 06:06:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

auntiegiggles

This thread is for all the people who are just starting to sew.  I am new to sewing and proud of my accomplishments but there is no outlet for me to showcase what I have done.  My work is no where near the amazing work done by the vets of sewing - so I do not fit in with their threads (i have tried). 
So I thought it would be nice to have a thread for those of us who are new but not yet accomplished at sewing.  As we develop our talents we can move into the other threads but for now this is where we can show off our latest accomplishments.   ;D  And share our issues and fixes. 

I am excited to see what other newbies are trying!

My latest technique that I have learned is the blind hem.  I messed up the first time - but figured out my issue and corrected it for the second and final attempt. 
Here's the pic of the completed project:

you can see a few mistakes with the sewing - but overall it still turned out just fine.   :D

Everything goes better with giggles

Valencia

Nice job on the hem!! And I love the thread idea! I was certainly scared to post in the main thread, because WOW there is a lot of talent on this board! But everyone here is so nice and supportive, this is such a great community.

Kate XXXXXX

While some of the talent here is awesome, newbies are welcome everywhere.  Anything you need to ask, do.

That blind hem is a brilliant thing, isn't it!  Well done for getting it right and doing it so neatly.