News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Belly Dance

Started by Dinobabe, July 29, 2010, 12:05:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lady L

Yes, Bonny Pearl! I wasn't sure of their names...Veena and Nina?
Former Shop Owner at MNRF

Blue66669

I'm one to say that unless you're getting live instruction, you may be missing out on a lot of the proper postures and things that will save some muscles and build other important ones up.

HI, my name is Blue, and I've been a belly dancer for about 2 years now. I've danced with Wine and Alchemy, as well as around a few fires here and there LOL! I'm still learning, I'm not all that awesome, but I know my way around a good chest lift and a shimmy. Oh, and I can belly dance to anything. My faves so far seem to be 80's new wave and ska music like Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Reel Big Fish.
Blaidd Drwg

Elennare

I don't belly dance, but I'd like to.  I've found a couple of places that teach lessons, but right now my schedule is such that I can't make it at the times they offer. :(  Maybe this fall, though, when my schedule shifts a bit, I'll be able to.

I can not shimmy, though.  For some reason, I just can't get my body to move that way.  Can a good teacher fix that?  Or am I doomed to never being able to shimmy, and thus never belly dance?
My (infrequently updated) costume blog: http://manufactorumbrandis.wordpress.com/

BryanPopp

Quote from: Bonny Pearl on July 31, 2010, 05:20:17 PM
I've been in search of an instructor in my area and not having much luck.   :(

Thinking I might just have to get a dvd for instruction, but I'm going to keep looking for a teacher.

Bonny