News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Tipping

Started by Amyj, June 05, 2008, 06:19:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Terry Griffith

Just one more short thought, I promise.

As a performer, I don't hold it against anybody who does not tip because I don't know anybody's story.  Except the people who request songs and then walk away without even throwing a quarter in the hat.  That is just plain wrong and I will talk about them after they are gone if not while they are still within earshot. 

And yes, it has happened.
"There's a unicorn that's hangin' in what's known as father's room......"

jarethmorgan

Just thought that I would add my two cents...

I have been performing at festivals since 2000, both as a variety act AND a music act. The bottom line is that music acts are the lowest paid acts at the faire. The management expects that we will make up the difference through hat passing and CD sales. Some faires are just NOT good CD faires. As a variety act, we ("The Magik of Morgan deGrey")were paid our daily rate and allowed to pass hat after each performance. Tips were good. However with my current music act, our daily rate is much lower and tips are just not as generous.

Think about this, if you will...