News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Character Query

Started by SpitefulSparrow, March 25, 2011, 03:01:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SpitefulSparrow

So, this is my first time as Cast, and I've been tasked with developing a persona for my character- I'm the Blacksmith's Daughter. I'm speaking the country dialect (as is most of of our cast o' faire folk) and we're doing a Robin-Hood theme. I'm singing a bit, and taking part in a fair bit of baudy songs, so it seems a lily-white maiden persona is going to be inadvisable. What I'm thinking is this: after the sheriff took over, and started levying taxes, and mum died, da turned to the cups/or became a workaholic the man playing my father wants to be an belligerent old man type, and I attempt to gain his attention by scandalizing my father in a variety of ways- flirting with men, getting drunk (well, acting like I'm getting drunk- I am a responsible actress) and being generally rebellious and raunchy(don't worry, I'm twenty-one, I just can pass for 17-18- right now its bothersome, but I figure in a few dozen years I'll be glad I look younger than I am) so- what say you?

DonaCatalina

LOL- this could be fun.
But think how most of the other villagers would have viewed the blacksmith;
a big man, stronger than the rest with an uncertain temper and anxious to protect his daughter's virtue.
The first man you flirted with might pass out from fear.  :o

The 'My Da never lets me out of his sight' routine could also be a little limiting.
Why not, 'Me Mum is dead so I'm left to run the house. Me Da relies on me to handle the money end of the blacksmithing and everything else'.
Aurum peccamenes multifariam texit
Marquesa de Trives
Portrait Goddess

Lady Kett