News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

A handful of silly questions...

Started by Scotty Hunter, April 23, 2011, 04:43:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scotty Hunter

I hope this is the right forum for this thread, if not let me apologize in advance.

Try not to laugh too hard at me. A giggle is fine, but a full belly guffaw might hurt my feelings.  :P

I'm a newbie in the world of RF and taking on a character persona and such. I've loved the "idea" of Faires for years, and love the costumes very much!  But my actual knowledge of the "do's and don't's" is very limited.

I guess the only way to learn to to jump right in and ask questions, even if it manages to embarrass myself.  ::)  I'll try to ask these in a way that won't get anyone hating on me, but if I use any insulting words (actors, costume, etc) please correct me!

First of all, I do plan on hitting as many Faires as I can this year, starting with the one in Wentzville MO/StLouis.  I'll be going plain clothes for a while, most definitely, until I get a feel for the Faire and the people therein.. but I was curious if there is an unwritten rule against people showing up in garb, even if not a paid actor or crew member?  I'd be terrified of stepping on someones toes or being a big outcast that doesnt fit in anywhere, so is this allowed/never-allowed or would each Faire have to be asked if they allow garbed visitors?