News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Period Pavillions - Questions

Started by GryffinSong, January 31, 2013, 04:14:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GryffinSong

Greetings all,

I am new to the renaissance vending world, and am considering a purchase of a period pavillion. For my first faire, I'm probably going to rent a 10'x20' rectangular pavillion from Mediaeval Miscellanea. If I buy a tent from them, my rental fee (or part of it, depending whether I buy THAT tent) will go toward purchase.

I think I've found all the "usual" pavillion makers, but how does one know who's the best? If a tent is up for 5-10 weeks at a time, its got to be sturdy, weather resistant, and practical. I have VERY little exposure to period tents, so although I can look at fabric weight and properties, appearance, and guess by price perhaps ... I have no practical experience to bring to the decision. Obviously, I will know more after the faire, but I'd like to go into this decision with my eyes open, and armed with as much knowledge as possible.

My tentative plan for this first faire is to rent the Annaliese with mudflaps and floor, and pay them to deliver, set up, and tear down. That way I can ask questions, ensure that its up properly, and see how they do things.

I'm in the SCA, though I haven't been very active yet. I figure if I can get help to set it up, it'll be fun for events (though overkill in the size department! Might need some roommates LOL), and if I'm able to get into Pennsic as a vendor in the future it would also do well there, as well as many of the small to medium faires that don't require a permanent building.

Thanks for any words of wisdom you can offer!!!  :)
"Be yourself, everyone else is taken." - Oscar Wilde

Lady Renee Buchanan