News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Is this plausibly historical?

Started by Sunshine, July 31, 2012, 07:45:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sunshine

I'm still pretty new to the renfaire scene, and this will be my first time trying to dress up in something besides a re-purposed pirate dress. I've been looking around on the web for garb ideas, and I really like the style of this Venetian dress by Likely Lotus, not least because it's different looking from the usual skirt and bodice combo. However, that also has me wondering. Even though it says it's based on Lorenzo Lotto's paintings, I haven't seen any side splits in the paintings I've found during an admittedly not-hugely-thorough image search (though I did learn that Venice was apparently the hippie Portland of the Renaissance when it came to clothes).

Is the dress plausibly historical? The Des Moines Renfaire is not exactly the SCA when it comes to costume accuracy (and I love it for that), but I'd like to be at least plausible.

isabelladangelo

What they are trying to do with that dress is combine two layers into one dress.   You can see what it is most likely based off of on this page.  It's the first drawing.  The dresses of this period were high waisted, sewn at the sides (most of the time, the lacing was either at the front or back, allowing for the skirt to be a piece of yardage that is just pleated to the bodice).  They sometimes wore an overdress over the main dress -the overdress could be open at the sides but it was often unfitted.   

Lady Renee Buchanan