News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Trying my hand at a bobbin lace fan

Started by Drac, August 27, 2011, 12:05:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Drac

Hi all,

I've played with bobbin lace over the years.  I am basically a beginner maybe a little more.  My wife, Amy, collects fans.  So far she has about a half a dozen Lady Susan's feather fans as well as several others including cross stitch and beads. 

So to add to her collection I decided to do a fan.  One site I use for reference is http://gwydir.demon.co.uk/jo/lace/.  Always great info.  She constantly updates her site and recently added a fan pattern -

So I started getting together the supplies.  First off was I needed a new "pillow".  I got some flower foam from the craft store, glued it to a board and shaped it.  Than I glued  a couple sheets of craft foam to the top to give a good structure for the pins to stick into -

Covered it with some scarp fabric for a working surface.  The funny thing is the scrap fabric turned out to be camo.  Not sure if this gets me any masculinity points back but it is definitely different -

Got a few new bobbins in since this pattern will take 31 bobbins.  Spent over 5 hours just winding the bobbins.  Took two full spools of white floss just to fill them -

Setting everything up -

After the first 3 hours I got about 2 square inches done -

A close up view.  I added a black worker to give a contrast on the twisted fan headside and I will also add a black passive on the footside -

Amy is currently making a black and white dress so I hope even the test run will look nice enough to carry.  If all goes well I will repeat in linen.

Drac
I cook with a flair for the dramatic,
and depraved indifference to calories

LadyShadow