News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Why do you like about RenFaire? I've never been

Started by curiousgeorge, April 02, 2012, 02:29:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

curiousgeorge

Hello!
I am a student taking an Anthropology100 course at a private college in Pennsylvania.  I was interested in the culture of the Renaissance Faire, seeing that I've never been to one, so I decided to do an ethnography on Renaissance workers and participants.  I was wondering if anyone would like to share some information by answering 15 questions listed below!  My thesis focuses on the workers at RenFaire, but anyone is free to answer them.  My apologies for the formal tone of the questions.

1.   Please identify yourself as a customer/patron, employee of RenFaire via contract (acting/dance/stunt troupe), or employee of RenFaire.
2.   What is the time period that the Renaissance Faire emulates?
3.   Which Renaissance Faire do you typically participate in? (county, state)
4.   Does the Renaissance Faire have a particular goal (commercial, recreational, educational) you're aware of?  If so, please explain.
5.   When you're at the Renaissance Faire, do you have a particular goal (game, food, drink, skill or hobby to display) to complete? 
6.   How do you typically spend your time at the Renaissance Faire?
7.   Are there noticeable differences in sartorial choices between volunteers and employees?
8.   Are you aware of the organization the Society for Creative Anachronisms (SCA) and/or do you participate in this organization?
9.   What is your role, job, or craft that you play in the Renaissance Faire?  Explain please.  (garb, title, societal role, etc.)
10.    [workers only] Do you enjoy working at the Renaissance Faire?  Please explain.