News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Tarot decks

Started by Mairte, June 17, 2013, 11:01:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mairte

Just out of curiousity to other readers out there, what decks are your favorites? Two I have really come to like are "Silver Era" and "Favole". Personal preference of course!!

GryffinSong

I don't read professionally, but when I bring a deck to a medieval event I usually bring either Kat Black's Golden Tarot, Old English, or Medieval Cats. I figure they're most likely to feel appropriate to the setting. For home use I currently am loving the Baroque Bohemian Cats, Tarot of the Absurd, and the Mary-el. In case it isn't obvious, I love to have multiple decks around. As an artist I love seeing different interpretations, and I learn so much from each of them.
"Be yourself, everyone else is taken." - Oscar Wilde

Mairte

Very cool!! I have thought about getting that Baroque Bohemian Cat deck. There is also one called Labrinth I found interesting. Oh and there is also another(name escapes me) that is supposed to have been designed from the Renaissance. Might be appropriate.

Lady Dragonfly

Coming rather late to this thread!  I had the Robin Wood tarot, which was quite lovely, and now have the Steampunk Tarot, which is very cool, and has great art!
The Dragonfly Stitches

Mairte

I think a Steampunk Tarot would be VERY cool! :)

Lady Dragonfly

Mairte, it's done by Barbara Moore, and is available at Barnes & Noble stores...probably is available through amazon.com, as well.
The Dragonfly Stitches

Mairte

Thank you!! I am trying to get a variety of decks actually to use. Depending on circumstances, certain ones seem to work better than others.

GryffinSong