News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Bodice Fabric

Started by Raelyn Fey, August 14, 2013, 08:27:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Raelyn Fey

I have a question about bodice fabric. I am buying a bodice from someone on Etsy, and she only has the fabric pattern I want in a wool fabric (black watch tartan). I'm afraid the wool is going to be too hot being out in the sun all day (the faire is in september and october). Because I'm new to costuming, I thought I'd ask the opinion of those who have worn it all. I am wearing a cotton, long sleeve chemise under it in case that makes a difference.

gem

The wool will be WONDERFUL in *all* weather--much, much more comfortable than, frex, some upholstery synthetics (she says, having made and worn many a bodice from upholstery fabric!). Remember that men's summer suits are almost always made from wool (they call it "tropical weight" for a reason!), and you hardly ever hear about sheep overheating.  ;) It's a terrific, breathable, all-weather fiber.  I wouldn't wear a Fair Isle fisherman sweater or my peacoat on a hot day at Fair--but I have no qualms about my wool dresses, or Milord's wool tunics/cloaks/kilts (and he definitely feels the heat!).

And for that matter, I honestly don't find that my bodices tend to be terribly warm, anyway--and they're made of LAYERS of heavy things--canvas, plastic boning, upholstery fabric. I think part of it is that they're close-fitting and part is that they're relatively small, in terms of what they're covering, and I make sure that all my other layers are natural fibers, flowy, and keep my skin from being exposed to too much sun.

Have fun!!
(How's that skirt coming?!)

Raelyn Fey