News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Discussion: was he it right or wrong for him to be upset?

Started by LadyStitch, November 18, 2013, 04:33:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LadyStitch

A little back story real quick.  I'm a professional seamstress by trade.  As such, I have over the years measured ALOT of people for costumes/ garb/ outfits. I can fairly well guess someone's size for clothing withing a couple inches.  I keep a data base of all my clients. I keep it confidential, and I only share the measurements with the client, and those who need to know for their work (Ie. my assistant). 
I was working in a costume shop helping put away items I had used for a show.   Inside was a fellow costumer, who was on top of a very high ladder trying to find pants for a the next show.  Since she couldn't' get down and look at her note book, she would call down and ask me to look something up, or ask if I new if "John Smith" wore a size 36 or 38 jacket.  Answer was 40 btw. :)  Over the past half hour she had been getting more and more frustrated with this one actor.  The size she told him in pants she would pull, he would go try it on taking 10-15 minutes  each time, and he kept saying "They don't fit".  She would then crawl back up the tall ladder to find something else.  After hearing him say, yet again, that he was a 32x30 I looked over to see what size he was.  He was NOT a 32, not even close.  I called up to her to pull a 36 or 38 inch waist for him.  The guy proceeded to get really hacked off at me because how dare I tell someone he was that big. How dare I question what size he felt he was. BTW she brought down a 38 and made him try it on.  It fit perfectly.  That made him even more angry.