News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Best faire in California?

Started by Valiss, July 14, 2008, 03:25:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Valiss

I've been doing faire on and off for over 10 years.  I've done a good bit of traveling around the state and been to my share of faires.  I figure by now, I've seen what there is to see at a faire as I thought I had been to most or all of them. But it came to my attention recently (via this website: http://www.renfaire.com/Sites/) that there are over 30 fairs in Ca! 

So for those of you in the golden state, what faire do you like the best?

Lady Toadflinger

Over the past 6 years, I have been to nine faires in Northern CA.( I have been to most multiple times) I haven't had the money to go farther South than Gilroy, unfortunately. My favorite faire is Valhalla, in So Lake Tahoe.  I love the location and the atmosphere of this faire.  It just seems to me that people are more relaxed there, and everyone is having fun. The trees smell so good, and most of the faire site is shaded. I also like the fact that it goes on for two weekends. In the North area, the only other one that does is "Northern", which is too far away from me and too expensive for multiple visits in one year. I am also very fond of the Sonora Celtic Faire and the No Cal Pirate fest. Really, I am thrilled to be able to attend so many faires that are within 3 hours of my home! (Placerville area) Huzzah for California!!
keeper of the royal menagerie

jfdonohoe

I have wanted to go to the Valhalla faire for years but have never been.  Neither have I been to the Patterson's Santa Barbara one.

I think the Casa De Fruita faire has come a long way to restore the local's faith and this is the one I visit every year.