News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Weapons at Faire?

Started by WhistlingAngel, May 16, 2015, 06:08:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WhistlingAngel

So for anyone who may've missed my intro, my name is Doug and I hail from Pennsylvania. I have actually never attended a Renaissance Faire in my life, but I'm planning to attend the Pittsburgh Faire this year.

Because I am new to this culture, my knowledge of such events is slim-to-none. That's why I am hoping to run an idea by those of you who are willing to listen and lend your opinion. 

I am building an onager (mangonel) that I would love to display at a Medieval/Renaissance Faire. Could I talk with Faire management about displaying my work when it is complete (probably not until next year), or would such a display be unwelcome/frowned upon?

I ask for two reasons: 1) because an Onager is older technology relegated to the ancient/medieval time period more so than belonging to the Renaissance (so perhaps period-correct fairegoers would be disappointed?). And 2) the obvious safety/insurance concerns that any weapon's presence will bring about in the modern day (and by this I am not implying that it would necessarily be demonstrated, only that it's mere appearance and construction make obvious the fact that it's not a display piece).