News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

When does the Character come out?

Started by Brother Robert of Essex, August 06, 2008, 03:07:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brother Robert of Essex

I'm very new to this all so I'm asking questions all over the place lol

I read some of these posts, and it sounds like everyone has very detailed and elaborate stories in some cases, about the character they are portraying. At first I thought the dressing ( garbing? ) and the accent was the main parts, but now that I am seeing all these detailed biographies of the characters - I am wondering where exactly you use this information?

The faire looks like a busy, noisy place - how and where do you unveil the details of your character? Or are these just things you keep in your own mind and nobody else knows it?

Most people I saw at the faire were shopping, eating or watching shows - I never saw anyone engaged in conversations about their backgrounds etc. So just wondering!

PurpleDragon

Many people find it easier for themselves to become immersed in their character if they have a history for that character.  The story of my own main character is far too long for me to post here as it exceeds the maximum characters allowed, and I am always working on the story in hopes to eventually have it published. 

For many of us who have a background in theatre, we like to get "into" character, and that covers anything from the garb we wear to the way we speak, and in some cases, the language we speak. It's a personal preference thing.  Do what YOU feel comfortable doing and hopefully it will help you mesh with other patrons, or playtrons as the case may be.
Karl "Dragon" Wolff
The Pirates Cove

Bin Ich SCHLECHT? Ja BIN Ich.

Baron Doune