News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Need help choosing machine embroidery thread

Started by Lorraine, September 10, 2008, 03:34:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lorraine

My boyfriend just bought me a singer CE-150 for my birthday. I was looking at the Sulky thread packages that Joann's has and they seem terribly expensive. I've found some cheaper rayon thread at http://www.threadart.com/shop/category.asp?catid=122 but since I'm new to this I have no idea on the quality. If anyone has a good, cheap source for thread I would love to know it. Thanks

Kate XXXXXX

Embroidery thread is like other threads: worth buying the good stuff!  However, you may find a better deal here than on the high street: http://www.redrockthreads.com/

I have bought from them (YLI 100 weight silk), and they were fast and efficient, even here to the UK.   ;D

Lorraine

My machine manual says to use polyester thread. I was looking at that site you linked and Floriani polyester looks good. I also found another brand online named Threadelights thats pretty low priced, has anyone ever used that?

Cilean

Always go for quality, it will help you every time.  Just as cheap (not inexpensive but cheaply made) fabric could cause you issues, dyefastness, unraveling added mystery fibers etc.  So too will thread, some of the threads who are made cheaply are bits and pieces of thread that have been heat treated or glued together to form a long strand then dyed.....it will break or warp easily which is not something you want to have happen when you are stitching out.  You want something in the 30 weight category and you can use 40 weight for t-shirt like things.

So I look for sales on thread and I get;