News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Renaissance Pher?

Started by Hawkwind, October 23, 2008, 08:26:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hawkwind

OK, I've been attending Faire for over eleven years, and I absolutely love it.

One thing my friends and I have often marveled over is the transformation that overcomes people at Faire. Do they pump pheremones out in to the Faire crowd? It seems that all their inhibitions get thrown to the wind as soon as they enter the gates. Is it the garb, the taking on of a new persona, the chainmail bikinis?

Now don't get me wrong, I love it, but WOW.

I've been to Scarby and the Highland Games in Atlanta and experienced the same thing, so I don't think it's just TRF.

What do y'all think?

~Hawkwind~

P.S. Just for the record, I wouldn't have it any other way!
Every renaissance comes to the world with a cry, the cry of the human spirit to be free. -Anne Sullivan Macy
~Hawkwind~

Cormac

I have noticed the same thing and I would agree that I wouldn't have it any other way.  Stepping into a persona especially if it is one that has developed over time, the garb, and the atmosphere of the faire makes it easier to let go of the work a day world.  As long as it is done in a responsible way it is just good clean fun.  Like anything it can be taken to excess but I have not seen that in my relatively short experience with faires.

LadyElizabeth