News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Need some help with my persona...

Started by Laeoric, May 13, 2009, 05:05:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Laeoric

Hey guys. This is my first post. I went to my first RF last Saturday at the TN RF and had a ball. I'm trying to decide on what I would like to dress as for next year's faire (or possibly the GA faire, I'm moving to Chattanooga in a week so it would be closer). I've always been intrigued by medieval archers and "rangers" so I was thinking of doing something like that. I would have either a green or brown hooded cloak, brown leather armor, two one handed swords, a dagger, and a bow and quiver. Because I am new to this I am not sure of the etiquet (sp?) involved and I don't want to offend anyone by chooses a historically inaccurate persona. What do you guys think?

PS. Also if you have any suggestions about where I can find inexpensive armor and weapons and patterns for the cloak, pants, shirt, etc. I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks and sorry about the long post.

Laeoric

Sir Ironhead

Well if you went to TNRF last weekend you probably saw a troll and some fairies wandering about, which are not only historically inaccurate they're FANTASY characters.  As long as your appearance passes the "common sense test" (if you wouldn't wear it while visiting your mother) the only person who should worry about the accuracy of your persona and appearance is you.

I'll probably should mention this; purple is usually reserved for the royalty and I've heard that one should not try to "out-dress" the local royalty, neither should be an issue for you as you plan to be a ranger/archer type.
Debaucheteer
IBRSC #1389
Sandbox Inspector
Iron'n M'Crack
Royal Order of Landsharks #41

Laeoric