News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

So...would this be period?

Started by guinea, May 13, 2008, 01:04:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

guinea

Could anyone perhaps tell me if this fabric would be appropriate for a reasonably HA forepart for a Tudor-style, Queen Anne inspired gown? It is embroidered 100% silk dupioni, according to the website. Flowers are also in a purple-based variety on the fabric. I'm just concerned about whether the embroidered pattern would be appropriate for the period. This is my first try at noble garb, so I'm out of my class a bit and still a little fuzzy on my research.  ???  I'm reaching out to those more experienced with Tudor garb than I. Thanks!!

Guinea

DonaCatalina

Quote from: guinea on May 13, 2008, 01:04:15 PM
Could anyone perhaps tell me if this fabric would be appropriate for a reasonably HA forepart for a Tudor-style, Queen Anne inspired gown? It is embroidered 100% silk dupioni, according to the website. Flowers are also in a purple-based variety on the fabric. I'm just concerned about whether the embroidered pattern would be appropriate for the period. This is my first try at noble garb, so I'm out of my class a bit and still a little fuzzy on my research.  ???  I'm reaching out to those more experienced with Tudor garb than I. Thanks!!

Guinea

I am assuming by Tudor, you mean during the reign of Henry VII or Henry VIII.
If that is in fact the case, this pattern would not be considered historically accurate.
The following is a detail of a sleeve worn by Lady Jane Grey. It should give you more of an idea what to look for in pattern styles.
Aurum peccamenes multifariam texit
Marquesa de Trives
Portrait Goddess

guinea