News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Easy bodice?

Started by tigrlily64, March 05, 2009, 11:54:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dinobabe

My puckering is at the princess seam, as stated it curves instead of supporting.  And it was HUGE.  I had to overlap the sides and cut 3 inches from each side on the front to make it fit "OK".  I didn't want to work too hard on it since it was my first.  But it was a great learning experience!  Since I'm still new at this can anyone suggest how I can use that pattern and make it fit better?  Maybe just a different placement of the boning?  Thanks!
Natasha McCallister
Bristol Faire 1988-2005
The Wizard's Chamber/Sir Don Palmist
59.2% FaireFolk Corrupt
midsouthrenfaire.com

gem

To use *that* pattern and make it fit better?

1. Cut out a much smaller size.

2. Draft out the princess seams.

3. Replace the heavy duty interfacing with canvas.

4. Redo the boning placement, and use heavy duty cable ties instead of the featherweight boning.

...That'll get you started.

Dinobabe

Quote from: gem on March 14, 2009, 03:55:51 PM

4. Redo the boning placement, and use heavy duty cable ties instead of the featherweight boning.

Wow!  Thank you so much!  I think I'll try this and see how it comes out.  ;)
I don't want to sound lazy or cheap but since I rarely get to attend faire anymore and I only paid $1 for the pattern I figured I'd alter it before buying a really nice H/A pattern.
Natasha McCallister
Bristol Faire 1988-2005
59.2% FaireFolk Corrupt
midsouthrenfaire.com

DragonWing

Quote from: Dinobabe on March 13, 2009, 02:12:50 PM
Quote from: DragonWing on March 13, 2009, 10:43:59 AM
Hello I was reading your request. I found this one in McCalls
http://www.mccallpattern.com/item/M4107.htm?tab=costumes&page=5