News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Help with Audition

Started by Lady Dina, April 13, 2009, 10:15:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lady Dina

I have been attending the Carolina Renaissance festival since I was about 7 or 8. I'm 20 now and would love to work there. (this is also my 2nd year I will attend in garb!)
Does anyone have any ideas of how to start? I don't know what type of positions would be available to me (I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to this ???).
Any help would be greatly appreciated!  ;D

renfairephotog

Fro general advice read through the Create a Character forums. Theres some audition advice in there.   
Twenty seasons of covering renaissance  festivals. Photos/calendar/blog.
Fairy photographer

Lady Dina

Terry Griffith

Lady Dina, that's good advice but remember you don't always pick your character.  You might suggest the part you would like to play but be prepared to do a 180 if the ED needs you to be something else.  It's nice to go to enjoy the faire for free and even get paid for it but actors must be prepared to be whatever the part requires. 

Not to say you won't get the part you create but just be open to the needs of the cast.  Your character will develope in the lanes with the assistance of all the others that know your story.  When you become the character in the proper surroundings, you will need to deal with the real problems and adventures of that character and those experiences flesh out the part.  That's the big diffeence in doing this kind of theater and acting on a stage.  At faire, you get to live the part.  On stage, your only living it while the curtain is up.