News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Yikes! What an image!!

Started by gem, April 24, 2009, 04:48:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gem

So most of you good gentles know that in my mundane life, I'm an author.  I just got my editorial letter (revision guidelines) for my new book from my editor today.  The new book is a young adult high fantasy about a thief, and my editor suggested more scenes where we see the thief stealing things:  "...a few coins from Raffin's pocket, a candlestick down the corset, etc."

CANDLESTICK DOWN THE CORSET??  :o ??? Egads!  Up a sleeve, under a skirt, maybe--but down the corset?  Um...  yeah. No.

LadyDracolich

Clearly, your editor has never worn a corset... ;) LOL  By the way, saw your tv interview you did last year for your last book.  It was great!  Good luck with the new one!
I don't know what you've heard, none of it is factual, but it's all true.

Cobaltblu

Do Lady Thieves wear corsets or would they prefer loose clothing they can move quickly in?

I don't see anything wrong with putting something down a corset since it is an easy space to hide items.

Is the thief so well endowed that she has an open space between, where she can hide an entire candlestick?  I don't know many hugely well endowed thieves.

I don't know I would cringe much more about putting the candlestick up the skirt than down the corset, lol.

Regards,

CB
Click on my website icon on the left to view my photo album of garb and items.

Dayna

"I don't know I would cringe much more about putting the candlestick up the skirt than down the corset, lol."

That was Not a mental image I needed  :o ;D

Dayna
Dayna Thomas
Nixie's Mom
Bristol FoF Hench
Education Goddess...yeah, right
FoF Merchant Liason/Merchandizing Maven

Kate XXXXXX