News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Faire Childcare

Started by Devneygirl, May 15, 2009, 12:48:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Devneygirl

Hi all!I am pretty new to faire life.Having only been to Ohio and K.Y.faires as a patron.My daughter has been working at faire with a friend for a few years now so I have a vague idea of how things operate.I myself would love to participate but have not been able to get it together as of yet.Anyway,I am aware of several vendors whom do have a problem with childcare during faire.I am curiuos if offering daycare services to vendors,performers and the like would go over well during faire?Thinking along the lines of setting up a tent in the camping area and providing lunch,snack,dinner,activities,playtime,stories,nap,etc.This would include infants up to whatever age supervision is needed.Thinking $50.00 an 8h.r.day is reasonable?Would love your opinions on this!Do you think there is a real need for this?Do you think management would allow?Thanks for your input :)

lys1022

There is actually a lovely lady who offers child-care for the participants at Scarborough, but I don't know her name.  Someone else here might.  You can occasionally see her charges moving about the faire in a group, all in garb.  Tres cute! :)
Lys
I am not an employee of Scarborough Faire and to not represent them in any way.

knarlyknot

As a vendor myself, I'll say that childcare is very much needed.  We do not bring our young ones to TRF so we must find babysitters every weekend for 8 weeks, which can sometimes be difficult.  Knowing I had that option would be great, even if it was just for occasional use.  Excellent idea!

Ratcatcher

I think it's a terrific idea, and have wondered myself why no one does it here.