News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

My first audition

Started by Guyinthehall8, May 26, 2009, 02:51:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guyinthehall8

Hello all! I'm planning on auditioning for the Carolina Faire in July. They told me I didn't need anything prepared or whatnot, but I'm not sure if I should have something anyways. Basically, I'm a complete newbie at this and would love any and all advice. I've done lots of stage acting and auditions with cold readings, but I'm pretty positive this is something completely different. I was just hoping all you wonderful people here could kind of give me a rundown of what to expect, what might help my chances, what I should bring, etc. etc.

Thanks!!!  ;D

McGuinness

The most important tip of all...relax and have fun!

You might want to get together with Lady Dina or <a href="http://www.renaissancefestival.com/forums/index.php?topic=6666.0">read her post</a> a little further down in this forum. She had pretty much the same questions, also about CRF. Go check it out and if you have any questions, let me know. I'm far from a pro, but I'd be happy to give my $0.02.  :)

Lady Dina

I'm auditioning for CRF for the first time as well. What day are you going? I'll be there sat.
As far as material, I am going to prepare a song since I heard that it helps to have something to set you apart from others.
So if you have any special talent that is relevant to your character I would suggest doing that. The lady in charge of the auditions also told me that it helps if you know something about the character you are auditioning for such as how they would live or what there duties would be.
Hope this helps! Good luck!

Guyinthehall8