News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

We can solve the Rendevous voting problem easy...............................

Started by Marcos Charron, June 12, 2009, 04:27:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marcos Charron

Fellow Folk

OK, I know I am a newbie, and that a lot more people here have been doing this for a really long time, but hear me out, All Right?

Why can't a selection board be formed to decide where Rendevous will held each year? I am all for the popular vote, but it is slanted to the faires that have a bigger population center, near the fairegrounds where they live. Bigger is not always better, and the will of the people has never voted in a president or official that everyone agreed with. So, why not divide the country up into sections, get someone to represent that area, and have this "council of elders" decide based on written and video bids made by faires that want to host?

No more post count issues, no more voting issues, no more my faire is better than yours issues.

Just happy folk doing what they like to do, and people with experience and wisdom making the decisions.

Viscomte
At the faire or in the wood shop, that's where I am!

Welsh Wench

I agree with one thing--Bigger is not always better. We proved that with TNRF for Rendezvous 2008.

As far as a council to decide---
The 'majority' are spending their money, the 'majority' should choose.

I can see this topic is going to become a real hotbed but I had to have my say.
Respectfully, you understand.
Show me your tan lines..and I'll show you mine!

I just want to be Layla.....

Lady Renee Buchanan