News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

What do you think of plot?

Started by GirlChris, August 03, 2009, 08:21:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GirlChris

I've been performing at various festivals for the past six years or so. But I don't have an act. I don't have a specific character. Ladies and gentlemen, I am a cast actor.

At several of the faires I've done, there has been a specific plot shown through various shows through out the day, introduced at opening gate and continued through three or four more shows throughout the day, with street improv to flesh out the story and tell people who missed the shows what's going on. So here's my question- do you care about the plot? Do you show up at opening gate and follow through to the end of the day, seeing how everything wraps up?

Just wondering...

analise

I've been known to follow it, to some extent. Though, uh, I often forget (save for some of the "bigger" bits that happen on stage) and then find myself pleasantly surprised when I run into something referring to it while traveling in the streets. ;)

Margaret

I don't think that general patrons know that there is a story line to the show, even though they may follow the fight scenarios throughout the day. 

They may know a bit about it due to character interaction (The King of Spain is here to try to marry the Queen!) but I think the people who follow it from begining to end are few and far between.
Mistress Margaret Baynham
The Sweete Ladye
IWG #1656 MCL
wench.org (IWG forums)
ibrsc.org (IBRSC forums)

Queen Maggie