News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Character names loosely based on your real life?

Started by Sullivans Bastard, August 18, 2009, 02:22:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sullivans Bastard

How many of you do this - create your character name based on your real name?  Maybe with a little tongue in cheek exaggeration...

I'm new to all of this and am creating my character/persona in preparation for my first visit to a major Ren Faire (KCRF).
This is what I'm considering:

I am an amateur luthier, so intend to make my Ren persona also a luthier. ( maybe vend in the future?)
The name on my birth certificate, although not the one on my Driver's license, is James Hughey.  My IRL biological father was named Sullivan, & my mother's was Hughey.

So, my persona name shall be James Ó hEochaidh, pronounced O'Hughey.  My persona is supposedly the bastard son (paternity denied) of Donal Ó Súilleabháin, chieftan of the Ó Súilleabháin Béirre clan.  He was killed in 1563 before he could fulfill a promise to my mother to acknowledge me as his son and rightful heir.  I was named James by my mother's English husband, who refused me a good Irish name as well as his own last name. The townsfolk referred to me as Sullivan's Bastard so often that the name stuck.

So, meet James Ó hEochaidh, aka Sullivan's Bastard.  ;D  I build psalteries, harps, pipes and flutes.

Lady Nicolette

Definitely!