News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Question for the fencers

Started by gem, October 24, 2009, 04:21:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gem

Some of you probably know that IRL I'm an author.

I'm working on a new book set in a fantasy universe with roughly late-16th C technology.

I'm looking for very quick help with a scene.  The main character observes a fencing match (friendly) between two other characters. One of the characters needs to have a "beat" or action tag that reveals what he's feeling--frustrated, annoyed, a little bit belligerent.

At the moment I have him tap the sword against the floor--which I'm pretty certain is probably something no real swordsman would ever do, even with a practice blade.  Yes?  No? 

Anyone care to suggest an alternative?

Gramercy!!

Auryn

gem
There are 3 kinds of fencing, foil and epee and saber.
Here is a forum post from a fencing forum that might help you a little bit as they are described.
http://www.fencing.net
IS the scene you are writing supposed to be quick and exciting or slow and calculated??

I used to fence foil and epee, unfortunately my knees can no longer put up with it.

I thought you might like this, its a set of rules for the people that do "historical" reinenactments of fencing duels - minus the bloodshed
http://www.ahfi.org/rules/epee.php

You are right, no real swordsman would touch his blade to the ground for multiple reasons. I'm thinking maybe a quick violent downward swipe of the blade would get you the same quick "outburst" of emotion.
It also depends on when in the scene it will happen, in the middle of the duel? at the end??
If its at the end I would think he could throw his mask to the ground- it would be very bad sport but between friends it could work.