News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Copyrighting your Character

Started by saphire_glade, November 17, 2009, 10:54:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

saphire_glade

not sure if this is the right place.

But I have a character that I have been developing for 4 years. I have her exactly where I want her, but the life of a fairy means a lot of competetion for what you do. I have had a great idea and have everything in place... only to discover that there are people trying to steal it.

I was trying to get it on the copyright registry but I don't know how to go about doing this. Has anyone ever copyrighted a street character and their bit successfully other than Twig that could give me advice?
Bubbles are pure magic... if you don't believe me watch any man, woman, or child chase a bubble down the road.

renfairephotog

Twenty seasons of covering renaissance  festivals. Photos/calendar/blog.
Fairy photographer

DeadBishop

The fact that you have been performing as, well, yourself, and that it's been documented, is a fairly substantial start. 

R/F.com member since 2003

Prof. John Bull

Copyright, by statute, applies only to those things which have been fixed in some sort of tangible medium.  Copyright protection can be obtained for a script, a drawing, a photograph, a musical score, a musical recording, or a video recording, but not for a live performance or the unique aspects of a character in a live performance.

One strategy is to incorporate a valuable character into a written script and leverage the copyright protection on that.  You have to think about what you're really trying to accomplish.  Copyright law is narrow and is not a magick amulet that wards off people trying to build upon what you've already done.

justsomeguytn