News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Bodice Boning novice!!!

Started by Ludovi, June 22, 2010, 01:34:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ludovi

So, I'm going to be working on my bodices for the summer, and have absolutely no idea what I'm doing when it comes to boning. I can't afford to buy oodles and oodles of it, (I can probably get what I need to make the pieces) so I want to do things right.

Do any of you have suggestions for other things I could be working with in my test pieces? Or, any important advice I should know before I start working with the boning?

I'm a novice when it comes to most of these things, so I reallly appreciate having you guys around to ask questions.

ladybootlegger

I use zip ties instead of boning. For one thing it is far cheaper, and easier to come by. That is you can get if from just about anywhere. For the bigger/wider "boning" I get the "industrial" zip ties. These can be found as an electrician's shop, or for a slightly smaller version of it, you can get it from Lowes or Home Depot.

When I made my bodice I did a lot of research... on this very forum section. There is a wealth of information here if you have the time to find it  ;)

The main points I found were to use a dremel (if you have one) to file down the edges. Then run the edge through the flame of a lighter or candle once or twice to help reduce any sharp edges.

I used biased tape to create the "sleeves" for the boning on the inside of my last bodice. Or, if you are lining it, you could sew two lines to create a channel or sleeve for the boning to slide into.

If you want to practice, I recommend using the smaller zip ties. Again, they are cheap and easy to come by.

Hope that helps!
I'm the one going to Hell, you were only watching.