News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Working with suede

Started by Margaret, October 21, 2008, 05:44:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Margaret

I am hoping to make a hat out of suede, but I have never worked with it before.

I know I need to pick up a specific needle for the machine - but are there any other tips, tricks and Things I Should Know (tm) before I head out there?

Mistress Margaret Baynham
The Sweete Ladye
IWG #1656 MCL
wench.org (IWG forums)
ibrsc.org (IBRSC forums)

lady serena

If you are working with true suede make sure its pig skin suede (1-2oz. in weight) that can be sewn on a home machine, some of the suede's are not sewing machine nice. Tandy Leather has some sewing leather books that may help but I'm not positive.
Guppy # 81
Fins up

LadyElizabeth

I always hand sew my leather stuff because like mentioned, most suedes are not normal sewing machine sewable.  The leatherworkers at fair have very heavy duty machines they use and even at that, a good portion still do things by hand...  But as for needles, the bigger and heavier duty the better!! 
Queen Elizabeth the 1st
Champagne the Bubbly
Bubbles the Fairy
Frost the Arctic Barbarian
Red the pirate

DragonWing

;) Yes as mentioned, suede is not machine friendly.  You will need a leather needle. At the moment I can not remember the number of the needles. But yes the heavier the better.
Dragon rider and mage,
(aka Vince)

isabelladangelo

Are you working with suede cloth or actual animal skin?  The two have different properties and need to be worked with differently.  I'd hand sew any actual animal skin.  If you are doing a hat, it won't take too long and will actually look better hand sewn (it's easier to do curves handsewing than machine sewing).

Randal