News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Could the Faire ever be moved out of the stormy season?

Started by Tiberius, May 02, 2010, 11:32:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tiberius

Hello all, Very nice to be here, I am new to this wonderful forum but have been going the TN Faire for years. It seems like we have had a really bad time with the weather for a number of years now. Is there a reason they choose to have the faire in the middle of spring which is by far Tennessee's worst weather season?  Does anyone know if the powers that be ever though of moving it to another time of the year. Summer can get hot but at least not as much rain and Autumn would be beautiful and cool out in the forest setting. 

I would think that we will start to lose performers/vendors if they keep losing so many days work from flooding, mud, rain, tornadoes etc every year. I love having it in the spring when the weather is nice,  but it just seems like the precious few days we get for the Faire are less and less every year because of this ridiculous weather. I am guessing that the Ren Faires around the country try and schedule around each other out of respect? Just wondering out loud here on a day when I had hoped to be at the faire and not down in the basement hiding from tornadoes yet again!

I hope everyone is staying safe and dry which in the end is what is truly important. Hoping for a sunny weekend next weekend!  :)

celtaban