News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Bodhran

Started by Lady Renee Buchanan, June 24, 2008, 05:37:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lady Renee Buchanan

I am signed up for a drumming workshop in Sept.  I don't play a drum now, but I've always wanted to learn to play the Bodhran (probably spelled wrong, I bet).

Is there anyone who could give me advice on buying one?  I'd like to take my own to the workshop, not sure if they will have one I could use. 

Since I'm a complete beginner, I don't need the same quality as one who uses the instrument on a daily basis while performing, but I don't want a Wallie-world type one either.

Any info on the different sizes, etc., and possible websites to look at would be much appreciated.  Since I just signed up -- I thought it sounded like a lot of fun -- I haven't started a search for a drum yet.  I figure since I have 2 1/2 months, I still have some time.  And I know that there is such a talented group of people on this forum, I'm sure there are some that can steer me in the right direction.

Thanks for the help.   ;D
A real Surf Diva
Landshark who loves water
Chieftesse Surf'n Penny of Clan O'Siodhachain,
Irish Penny Brigade
Giver of Big Hugs 
Member since the beginning of RF
All will be well. St. Julian of Norwich

Thistle

you spelled it right. :)

I do a little with bodhran, but only as a sideline - mostly I stick to strings or flutes. The two drums I have are a cheapy Pakistani 16" and a Roundstone/Malachy Kearns 18"... both need water to sound anything close to decent... though the latter I just got a week ago and is still settling in I'm sure.