News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Do I need to "dress" my bass?

Started by A Kindred Kilt, December 14, 2015, 01:16:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

A Kindred Kilt

Hello -

I play a modern acoustic electric bass and I was wondering if there were any guidelines on how it needs to be "dressed" for faire or am I ok with it being the way it is?
May you be a half an hour in heaven before the devil knows you're dead !

Merlin the Elder

Hey there, and welcome!

I find it no more out of place (and I certainly don't mean that negatively) than a modern acoustic guitar, which you will find an abundance of at faires. You should be fine. 

I might hang something from the neck for giggles. I'm a bassist myself...I'd probably hang a fish stringer with a fish or two — bass, of course — but then, as folks around here will confirm, I'm pretty out there.  :D

As a matter of aesthetics, it would be preferable, however, to go wireless, if you can afford it.
Living life in the slow lane
ROoL #116; the Jack of Daniels; AARP #7; SS# 000-00-0013
I've upped my standards. Now, up yours.
...and may all your babies be born naked...

Gauwyn of Bracknell

Quote from: Merlin the Elder on December 15, 2015, 05:37:21 AM

As a matter of aesthetics, it would be preferable, however, to go wireless, if you can afford it.

that is the issue my son's band has, is not going with amplification; it's tough with all the noise around (the stage is in a metal shelter in a park with a concrete floor).  Wireless seems to work well for some of the bands I have seen (Saxon Moon, (old) Wine and Alchemy).  although I guess it is funny we are trying to stay 'period' while playing in a pole barn :)
Born 500 years late

Gauwyn of Bracknell

Merlin the Elder