News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Knot work

Started by Barret, December 09, 2009, 11:11:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Barret

I was wondering if anyone has incorporated knot work into their garb for fair? I used a very simple spliced loop and monkey's paw combination to give me an easy way to attach my mug to my belt. I studied under a boson while I was sailing for a little bit and learned some neat rope things and am thinking about picking it back up again and perhaps using it to add to my garb. I am not particularly a pirate but it seems like it would certainly be fitting for their garb, the most common items they would have had access to to make themselves things were scraps of sailcloth and line used for making chafe gear and the like.

Gwen aka Punstergal

ME ME ME!! (punstergal aka KNOTTYNYMPH, hehe)

You can see my knotwork on knottynymph.deviantart.com (don't worry, if you look as a guest, everything is work-safe-all mature content requires creating and account and logging in).  Some examples of things I've done for garb are:

"Hell hath no fury like an enraged Gryphon Master"

Barret

Cool stuff, I particularly like the dress, as my girlfriend will tell you, I have a weak spot for backless dresses. As for the DeviantArt, sounds like I need to create an accoun =P

Butch

Me too!  I covered a tin cup with square knotwork for my RenFaire mug.  My ren knife is done with halfhitches around the handle, beginning and ending in a turks head (I stole the idea from those paddles we Marines like to give away).  I tie my ren shoes with a double carrick bend.  My photo is in the Show Us Your Hats thread.  I will try to post it here, so you can see my cup.

Butch