News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Which sewing machine should I get??

Started by BagPipeBabe, January 25, 2014, 02:39:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BagPipeBabe

I have been making my grab for only a few years now, I have the cheapest sewing machine out there (I HATE THAT MACHINE).
My husband (who is tried of hearing me complain) has given me permission to star shopping for a better one.  ;D

I was wondering what machines all of you sew on?? My Mom always had a Singer, but is the a better brand and which model is is good for sewing grab??

gem

A new sewing machine is kind of like a new car--a lot of excellent brands out there, and people will "drive" their favorites. I have a Viking Emerald 183, and I love it to pieces--but another forum member has the same machine, and hates it (and we sew very similar things). It's very subjective, and YMMV. Among the good machines, some will "feel" better to you than others. Try as I might, I couldn't bond with Bernina, but Bernina owners are fanatically loyal. Some people love vintage machines (you can often get a better quality machine for less money buying used), so that's a perfectly valid direction to go in, too.