News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Crazy Stories of Faire, Redux?

Started by Wakarimasen, May 25, 2009, 12:40:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wakarimasen

I would like to make my first post on these forums an amusing - and true (!) story (with a moral, no less)!  I hope it restarts a topic (Crazy Stories of Faire?) that's doubtless been started many times before.  :)

My wife and I have been camping at TRF for the last six or seven years, and over that time have accumulated a lot of gear, including a toilet ("bio-blued" bucket topped with seat) and tent-privy.  Aside from making the art of camping at Faire more comfortable (and more complex), such gadgetry eases the task of convincing friends - the vast majority of whom are NOT Rennies - to join us at the campsite for a weekend of carefree carousing.

One such victim, Patrick, had been to TRF before - some twenty years before, which alone was reason enough for my wife and I to insist that he go again.  When we heard that he had never camped there, we introduced him to our spare tent / air mattress / bedding (and the marvels of toilet-bucket, tent-privy, et cetera).  He relented, and so it was to be just the three of us.