News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Munchausen Syndrome

Started by Welsh Wench, July 24, 2009, 09:54:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Julianne

I majored in Clinical Psychology initially.
I couldn't maintain the amount of "acceptance" that was required.  Maybe that was because of my lack of compassion of "what ifers".  Eventually, my degree was Industrial Psychology...yeah it is what it is - Profiling.

That old law of for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction...I might have embraced the opposite side. ;)
I disdain hospitals and those who find comfort in them.
I won't take a pill unless I absolutely have to.

Self-diagnosis is okay when we are talking about illnesses that are very common and very treatable with over the counter medication.  This is good.

WW, initially your relative sounds a tad hypochondrical.   However, it could also be a situation of better insurance bringing a more efficient outcome through hospital visits.  The two concepts are worlds apart.
In another thread I believe there is an interesting conversation about that.
My opinion on that is:  In the USA I'd love to see everyone (legal or not) receiving the same quality of health care and charged based on their ability to do so.  No income should not be relative to quality of healthcare received.

Mental illness in this country is still mostly perceived as a characteristic flaw.
I learned through education that my Mothers "flaws" are because of her mental illness.  Otherwise, I'm sure she would have been a wonderful mother and grandmother.

I still try to count my blessings with her as my Mother.  It's the right thing to do.

Anna Iram