News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Winter Projects

Started by Dannicus, December 02, 2008, 04:02:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dannicus

Hi all,

for my winter project (I try to learn something new every winter) I decided, that since I enjoy going to fests in garb, I might try to learn to sew some things. My problem is, that I have no experience in such things and don't want to try to bite off more than I can chew. So I thought I would ask what you did first when you started sewing garb. I know I can't be the only festie who started sewing to custom make their own garb. My eventual goal is to design and put together my own captain's jacket. I've always wanted one.

So...your thoughts?
What we need in America is a renaissance. We need to go forward by going backward.   -Stanley Crouch

operafantomet

Hi there!

This sounds like a very good winter project. It's awesome to be able to make ones own garbs, and to create stuff that can't be bought in stores. But where to start?

I'm one of those who can't use patterns. I screw up, it never fits me, and I seldom agree with what the pattern want. I GLANCE at patterns to get an idea of how to construct stuff, but I don't use them for the actual cutting. I started my costume-making "career" by remodelling existing garbs. But soon this wasn't enough. So I started using nice-looking fabrics (bed linens, curtains etc) to try out ideas. And soon enough I started buying fabrics for my projects, and I've never looked back...

Still, most will recommend the fairly good commercial patterns available. And I agree. By choosing the right materials (think natural fibres) and adding our own twist, they will often end up looking great.