Market Square > Ren Faire Camping

A travel trailer as my HOME

(1/3) > >>

deafdrummer:
Hello all!

I have been considering for several years whether to go on the road as a rennie.  I am looking for a small travel trailer that weighs under 3,000 lbs and has to be LIVED IN, so no pop-ups.  The best way to get the weight down under that limit so that I can carry gear and weigh no more than about 3300 lbs wet weight is to gut the interior and rebuild it with minimal furnishings, shelves with hangers (for dishware) and slots (for hand utensils), minimal cabinets with sliding doors instead of the full-featured stuff you find in travel trailers, and interior walls replaced with curtains on rods/tracks to save weight.  I want to minimize cabinetry (not to eliminate, but minimize their weight) as much as possible while giving myself as much storage space as possible.