News:

Welcome to the Renaissancefestival.com Forums!  Please post an introduction after signing up!

For an updated map of Ren Fests check out The Ren List at http://www.therenlist.com!

The Chat server is now running again, just select chat on the menu!

Main Menu

Unemployed... again

Started by Capt Gabriela Fullpepper, October 03, 2008, 10:53:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Capt Gabriela Fullpepper

So after a year and a few days of a contract position I found out today that I will once again, come Oct 16th be unemployed. The company I am at is laying off and since I am a contractor, I'm numero Uno to go in my dept (IT) It really sucks, as jobs are light right now in IT and I'm even going outside my career path applying as a admin (I have a ton of customer service experience so why not, beats unemployment).

So now that I will be once again broke, I sure don't see the feds bailing me out with 700 billion dollars. In fact unemplyment pays almost half of what I need to make to survive. Top that off with paying for my kids support knocks that by up to 60%

On the upside I will be saving gas not having to drive 80 miles round trip and hopefully will find something closer to home, but until that happens, I guess I start headig to the poor house. Not to mention I gained a few more references who want to give me great job references if needed.

At least Toki has a job and that makes it easier, but not fully as now it gets tighter than it already was, almost to chocking point. Just hope he can get 40+ hours a week.

Dang it sucks in this economy right now.
"The Metal Maiden"
To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody e

Element of Air

I am so sorry to hear that, my guy keeps falling ill and he is at the limit for occurrences. So he is next on the list for being let go as well.

I hope that you may find a job, it truly is hard at this time. All of my wishes go two you.